SPECS 2018 English

Leanne Lee
Dear Friends & Colleagues,


On behalf of the organising committee, it is my pleasure to invite you to attend the Singapore Primary Eye Care Symposium (SPECS) 2018 to be held in One Farrer Hotel from 18 to 19 July 2018.

This two-day symposium, themed “Breaking Barriers in Primary Eye Care”, will focus on the recent scientific advances in primary eye care as well as explore the current challenges confronting eye care practitioners and practices.

I am pleased to announce that besides a panel of distinguished local speakers, we will have three eminent overseas speakers at this symposium. They are Professor Scott Read from Queensland University of Technology’s School of Optometry and Vision Science, Professor Datuk Dr Rokiah Haji Omar from the National University of Malaysia’s Faculty of Health Sciences Optometry and Vision Science Programme, and Dr Jason Lim from Australia’s Murdoch Ophthalmology. The speakers will cover a variety of topics including the latest updates on myopia and its control, low vision management, various ocular diseases, clinical pearls and tips, as well as medicolegal issues.

SPECS 2018 will be a unique opportunity for all primary eye care professionals to come together to learn and interact as well as to forge new friendship and renew old ties. Together, we can break down barriers and overcome challenges to bring primary eye care to greater heights for the benefit of our patients and our profession.

I am confident that you will find this symposium a fruitful and educational one.

I look forward to welcoming you at SPECS 2018!

Leanne Lee, Chairman Organising Committee SPECS 2018

Overseas Speakers

Scott_Read (CROPPED)
Assoc Prof Scott Read
Prof Datuk Dr Rokiah Hj Omar

Local Speakers

Dr Ajeet Madhav Wagle
Dr Au Eong Kah Guan
Dr Chang Chong Ming Benjamin Julian
Dr Cheryl Lee
Dr Joy Chan
Dr Loh Boon Kwang
Dr Peter Loke Chi Wei
Dr Tan Zhen Wei Matthew
Dr Wong Chee Wai
Ms Yang Huixian Adeline
Ms Chan Hsiao Lan Stacy
Mr Koh Lian Buck
Ms Lim Mun Ching
Ms Ng Shu Ying
Mr Simon Lam Hoi Hing
Ms Veni Venushasakti
Ms Wong Shu Ting
Mr Wong Hong Yun
Ms Rachel Kelly
Adj Prof Lim Tock Han
Prof Saw Seang Mei